official post #5 : Reflection on Oral Presentation

Just completed my oral presentation with my team (Team Abercrombie) yesterday. We had presented our ideals, solutions and proposals about improving the standards of zebra crossings on the NUS campus.

for a short recap on the presentation (for Lance’s and Christopher’s parts + Q&A only) here it is below:

 

I apologize for the poor video quality. The camera settings were set incorrectly by accident and thus the resulting video is very poor in quality. You can still hear us properly (although you may have to turn up the volume slightly).

As for the personal reflection on my own part of the presentation:

Strengths:

  • Voice projection and clarity in words. I tried my best to be clear in my enunciation and tried my best not to mumble.
  • Spoke with feelings and conviction. Since it is something important to us, I naturally presented our cause with passion.
  • Good improvement on eye contact (from mock OP)
  • Did not turn to face the slides on the screen for too long. Such that my body was facing the audience most of the time.
  • Made suitable references to the pictures on the slide.
Weaknesses:
  • Stumbled quite a bit while speaking at the start. Too nervous again, I guess 😦
  • Spoke too fast (that I what I felt), could have paced myself slower.
  • Too much hand gestures, could have toned it down slightly.
  • I think my fringe was quite a distraction, might have impeded my eye-contact with the audience.
That is all I have for now, thank you in advance for the comments! 🙂
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eric
    Nov 06, 2011 @ 22:59:01

    Hi hx,

    Here’s my feedback from your presentation:

    Strengths:
    -You have a very very strong voice, learn to make use of it, and it’ll become a asset 🙂
    -Clear and concise arguments
    – Minimal pauses
    – Confident stance

    Weaknesses:
    – Would have liked to see you step up and take a Q&A question
    – Played with your hands too much(you keep doing this gesture where your arms
    -Forgot eye contact at some parts 🙂

    Reply

  2. noelle
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 14:26:05

    Hey, I am re-posting this because somehow it got “lost”.. haha.
    You can’t tell.. so anyhow, here’s my feedback:

    Strengths
    – Like what Eric has said, you have a good voice projection. You sound clear and confident.
    – A good pacing, I don’t think I could tell you were nervous/stumbled.
    – I don’t think you over-used hand gestures.. but that’s just my opinion? You appeared passionate.

    Weaknesses:
    – I felt the slides where too wordy, but that is for your whole group in general.
    – Looked down at the screen too much, (Even though I think you seemed like you had to in order to chance the slides?)

    Otherwise, cheers for your presentation.

    Reply

  3. Michael
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 18:45:19

    Hi HuiXin,

    Your pacing is good, as far as I have concerned. I have no problem understanding all your ideas and do not have the feeling that you are speaking too fast.

    You need to participate more in the Q&A session. The same with Noelle, the slides were a little bit wordy for your whole group.

    Your mock presentation left me a deep impression. However, I felt your performance in the OP is not as good as the mock one. Maybe you are nervous. But it is still a good presentation.

    Reply

  4. ohmyhx
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 01:37:48

    Thank you Eric, Noelle and Michael for your feedback!

    Now that I look back during the video, it did seem that I could have done more on the Q&A segment… It did appear as if I was strangely timid during Q&A. Hm.. And honestly I do not remember looking at the computer screen, but I may have forgotten about it due to nervousness? :O

    And thank you for the comments about my voice/tone/projection 🙂 And I am pleasantly surprised about the pace of my presentation being okay for you all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

